My Xbox One library

I’ve been saying a lot of threads online about how ‘disappointing’ the Wii U library is, and every single time I end up laughing at them. Not only do anons always come in and talk about a wide range of great games exclusive to the platform,they always point out just how much BETTER Wii U’s average games are than the absolute cream of the crop on other consoles. As many issues as I have with games like Bayonetta 2 and 3D World, I put over forty hours into both. I don’t think I’ve played a single Xbox game that much yet at all.

And that’s not a dig at Xbox at all. In fact, I’m overall rather happy with mine… not due to upcoming releases, however, but due to it’s vast library of older content that never found it’s way onto Nintendo consoles.

I’m having a lot of fun with gems from last gen like Tomb Raider and Dead Rising, and although virtually all of the big new releases for it are complete crap, it’s serving my purposes as a collector of games from the sixth and seventh gen really well. I don’t really see it as a ‘new’ console, exactly. I see it as more of an emulator.

And a big reason for that is that nearly all of the content I own on the console could also have easily been purchases on other platforms.

Here is a complete list of games I own for Xbox One.

Alien Isolation (Saw a release on last gen consoles)

Rare Replay (A collection of 30 games, also all on other consoles)

Dark Souls 2 (Saw a release on last gen consoles)

Dead Rising (Saw a release on last gen consoles)

Gears of War collection (Saw a release on last gen consoles)

Mortal Kombat X (Was planned to see a release on last gen consoles. Next gen exclusive)

The Evil Within (Last gen consoles)

Tomb Raider (Last gen consoles)

Sleeping Dogs (Last gen consoles)

Besides Mortal Kombat X, every single game I own is available on other platforms that I also own. I just personally saw it as more cost effective to get on Xbox instead. And although there is at least one upcoming Xbox exclusive I am interested in (Scalebound) I don’t think I’ve even bothered to go looking around for new games for it. I’m very happy with what I’m using it for.

People VASTLY overestimate how little it takes to be satisfied with a purchase. People writing off dozens of great games as being worthless just for being on Wii U is laughable to me, as I’ve played my Xbox a fraction of the time I’ve spent on Wii U and 3DS but still find it a perfectly enjoyable platform and well worth my time.

I’ll probably pick up a cheap PS4 sometime next year just for Yakuza and Bloodborne, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy that too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

