Born to be Wild

It’s over.

I have beaten Breath of the Wild.

Now, that isn’t to say that I’m completely done with the game. In fact, I actually ended up fighting the final boss by accident because I wasn’t keeping track of where I was going and, following my completion, immediately booted the game back up to finish what I was doing. I’m still playing it.

It probably took me around sixty hours to get to where I’m at right now. The play activity log on Switch is kind of weird, so I can’t say for sure, but it’s definitely somewhere around that mark. Sixty hours of some of the most addicting gameplay I’ve ever experienced and not once did I feel bored. In fact, the fact that I’ve beaten the game has changed nothing. I’m still addicted to it. Finding the memories, accomplishing sidequests, finishing Tarrey Town… the list of interesting things to do has not diminished at all. I fully expect my time with this game to hit the one hundred hour mark. It’s that good.

I don’t think I’ve been so enamored with a game since Yakuza 5, but unlike that game Zelda doesn’t get repetitive at all. Each encounter feels unique and different. Each area has their own kind of secrets to uncover. Each quest is interesting to discover and accomplish. The game never really lets up. The weapon system, in which you have to frequently pick up new weapons to replace broken ones, is a big part of what makes each encounter with enemies (Who themselves come with a variety of different varieties and weapons of their own) stressful and thrilling. This game has some of my favorite enemies in any game ever due to how difficult and fun they are to fight. Standouts include the various Guardians and the mighty Lynels.

Breath of the Wild is more than just a 10/10 game. It is one of the best games ever made, the pinnacle of it’s genre, and an absolute must buy for Wii U and Switch owners alike.

Now to finish the Tarrey Town quest.

 

Leave a Reply

